Some people think that it is important to use leisure time for activities that improve the mind, such as reading and doing word puzzles. Other people feel that it is important to rest the mind during leisure time. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

Nowadays, it is argued by some that doing some brain exercises during leisure time is beneficial while others believe that complete relaxation is more imperative. Although the viewpoint of the first group seems to be plausible in some cases, the latter’s is more persuasive. On the one hand, there are a lot of reasons why people believe that using leisure time for activities that improve the mind is important. First, people can sharpen their mind by playing a lot of games during leisure time that make players brainstorm. For example, playing chess or word puzzles requires players to concentrate on every step and make a decision carefully, resulting in making their mind sharp and efficient. Second, some pastimes not only bring people delight, but also broaden their knowledge. In fact, reading novel books or scientific books brings readers some information that is conducive for their life. On the other hand, advocates of complete relaxation during leisure time are also able to come up with arguments to justify their opinion. First, by taking a rest during leisure time, people will allow their brain to refresh and work better. To be specific, a study points out that those who take a nap for about thirty minutes do exercises better than those who do not, thanks to which the work is completed more efficiently. Second, because of having to deal with countless matters from studying and working, people should relax completely to reduce mental pressures. In fact, sleeping makes the body restore and supply energy for the brain, and as a result mental issues can be eliminated. In conclusion, improving the mind during leisure time may bring some benefits, but taking a thorough relaxation is more important. By considering all the metrics of two ways, people should be able to make the best choice.