Some people think that offenders should be put in prison. Others, however, believe that providing offenders with education and training is more effective than putting them in prison. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

The perspectives on what measures governments should take to deal with criminals vary widely. Some people believe that offenders should be in jail, whereas others consider educating and training criminals to be a more effective solution. As far as I am concerned, I am strongly in favor of the latter, and the reasons will be thoroughly elaborated on as follows. An array of causes may lead to why imprisonment seems rather effective in coping with criminals. First of all, limiting prisoners to jail prevents them from committing any crime, creating a harmonic society where all individuals can live without being concerned about their safety. Secondly, imprisonment serves as an intimidation for people who ever dare to violate the laws. For example, in Singapore, anyone who drives with an excess level of alcohol would be severely punished by the government with a lifetime sentence, so all citizens opt to abide by the regulation strictly and never think of challenging it. On the other hand, education and training can not only lower the crime rate but also increase the productivity of a country. To begin with, if criminals receive long-term moral and legal education, they will eventually realize the harm they do to others, thereby behaving well rather than making similar mistakes again. Additionally, training resources equip criminals with life skills that allow them to earn steady income in the future, boosting the advancement of society. In conclusion, based on the aforementioned, providing education and training is much more effective since this policy stops criminals from harming others and helps them maintain their lives.