Some people believe online reading materials should only be used for a child to learn to read whereas others believe only printed material should be used. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Over the last few centuries, the pace of change in the life of human beings has increased beyond our wildest expectations. This change has been driven by the booming breakthroughs in science and technology. Consequently, the world seems to be like a small village. As a result, the reading materials are available to children not only in printed form but also over the internet. However, it is being suggested by some individuals that online materials should be used by children to learn whereas some individuals believe just exactly the opposite. According to those individuals, children should learn through printed material. This essay will focus on the different perspectives regarding the material being used by the children to learn and why I believe that learning materials for children should be in printed form There are some notable reasons behind my firm conviction that printed materials should be used. Firstly, online materials may not be able to have that much impact on children’s brain that printed materials might have. Secondly, constantly looking, at the screen will cause damage to the eyesight of the children. It may lead to visual impairment. Thirdly, children may try to learn inappropriate contents if reading materials become widely available online and it will be difficult for parents to control their doings all the time. On the other hand, strong arguments can be made on the opposite side. Children can access online reading materials from anywhere in the world and thus there will be no barriers in learning. Also online reading materials are mostly at free of cost and easy to use. This may result into knowledge enhancement of children. For instance, a child from Bangladesh can read a book published by an American writer without paying any charge. To conclude, it can be clearly seen that, the advantages of printed reading materials eclipsed the advantages of online reading materials. Weighing the pros and cons of both the formats, I do recommend that even though online reading materials are widely accessible for the children, use of printed reading materials should be encouraged to ensure the future longevity of the children.