Buying things on the Internet, such as books, air tickets and groceries, is becoming more and more popular. Do the advantages of shopping in this way outweigh the disadvantages?

Unarguably, with the advancement of the technology people have been shopping online since a decade, which metamorphosed into an argument that whether it has plus points or not. The lion's share of people favours it, the rest opposes it. Notwithstanding, this discourse delves into both standpoints, and subsequently, will put forward how the boons supersede the pitfalls. Admittedly, the exponents of the view that the technology has changed the perspective of the public since its invention and trend have their own justification. In addition, there are many groups of people who like to go in person to buy groceries, books, clothes, to book movie ticket and so on. The rationale behind their argument might be the quality of things which does matter for a healthy life. In online shopping one can get cheated in many ways from cheap material to fraud with a bank account. Secondly, the charm of shopping has been distorted because not everyone can operate the internet. To add, people have become lazy as technology has given options to get anything with the touch of a finger, anytime, anywhere which affects health system. To epitomise, according to a survey from the University of London in 2011, 30% of people got sedentary lifestyle and got cardio-respiratory conditions. However, on the flip side of the coin it has plethora of positive points when one uses internet for all essential needs. To explain in detail, in this hectic era of the globe, people hardly find the time to go in stores besides the work or study. Hence, they choose the easy option while being in the home and does not prefer to waste the time. Furthermore, few trustworthy online shopping sites not only give various options to find the best quality, but also provides low price to attract more customers, and in consequence the sale or discount on final prices can help a person to get expensive things. Moreover, online services provide the flexibility and availability to customers. To recapitulate, having explored both slants, I restate that the technological advancements gave more efficient ways of shopping, thus people should use it, nonetheless, the privacy of customers, the quality of products and the activities for cybercrime should be looked out.