Essay #3: Young people committing crimes should be treated the same way as adults. To what extend do you disagree or agree?

In the recent years, the alarming increase in juvenile delinquency has been a hard riddle for individual as well as our society. It is recommended that adults’ sentences should be imposed on teenage criminals to combat young crimes. Personally, I believe that young people committing crimes should not be punished the same as adults. On the one hand, there are some reasons why offender of all ages should be treated equally. Harsh punishment can serve as a deterrent to those who intend to break the law; therefore, the crime rates are decreased considerably. Furthermore, young violators receiving lenient penalties compared to grown-up offenders may not fully fathom the disastrous consequence of their actions; hence they are likely to reoffend after being released. This may put the safety of innocent people in jeopardy and pose a threat to the whole company. On the other hand, I believe that youth crimes should be tackled differently. The offence of youngster stems from their lack of intellectual capacity and proper education from the elders. For instance, a young student massacred the whole school because he tried to imitate a popular shooting game he was playing. Moreover, many young people become a culprit because of being threatened or manipulated by criminal gangs. For example, they can be forced to be a drug trafficker or a theft. Besides, there are a lot of useful alternative forms of penalty, such as sending immature wrongdoers to rehabilitation centres or making them to serve at unpaid community service organizations. Thanks to these methods, young lawbreakers can obtain not only better respect for laws, but also specific skills to reintegrate back to the community and contribute to their nations. In conclusion, for the reasons mentioned above, I disagree with the view given. Accordingly, rather than penalizes strictly the government should take a more appropriate measure to approach this issue