Some people think that increasing communication usage of computers and mobile phones by young people has had a negative effect on their reading and writing skills. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Digital delivery methods such as emails, text-messaging and virtual social networks have been helping billions of people write and read messages on a daily basis. At first glance, this appears to support reading and writing skills. However, I believe that these means of connection have a negative impact on one’s overall ability to read and write. The most important reason for my opinion is the proclivity to use an informal word, in conversation via mobiles and computers. Whereas serious reading and writing involve the exposure to formal vocabulary, most of the messages exchanged using mobiles and computers are rather short and contain spoken expressions. This is because on a digital platform, time saving and convenience, rather than the sophistication of expression, are the utmost priority of people. In brief, the more frequently people use a form of mobile and computer-based link, the more likely informal expressions would dominate their use of accent. Another reason for the exacerbation of reading and writing abilities is the over-dependence on technological assistance. This is the case because users of mobiles and computers are usually aided by spell-check and automatic proofreading services when writing a message. Some computer programmes can also find the best word choice to avoid vocabulary mistakes. As these processes are continually repeated, users’ sense of spelling and grammar and lexical range may gradually erode. Eventually, this erosion leads to the degradation of both the writing and reading skills. In conclusion, due to the tendency towards using spoken terminology and the over-reliance on proofreading software when communicating via computers and mobiles, I am convinced that digital contact has an adverse impact on one’s overall reading and writing level.