An increasing number of students are choosing to study abroad. To what extend does this trend benefit the students themselves and the countries involved. What are the drawbacks

It is true that a large proportion of students tend to travel overseas for their higher education. People have different mindsets regarding this phenomenon. This trend has both benefits and drawbacks. I will explicate my viewpoints in the subsequent paragraphs. On the one hand, there are a multitude of reasons why individuals think that getting an education from different countries benefits them. The most significant reason is that some fields of study are given more preference in other countries and also provide good annual income whereas some do not value that specific field. Canada, for example, pays good money in skilled trade such as electricians, plumbers etc. while India does not take these small occupations into consideration and people are not paid much. As a result, people interested in these fields travel to different countries, study there and get paid well. Moreover, it is not just the people who benefit from this migration, the countries benefit equally. Countries get skilled people from different places across the globe which in turn help in the development of these countries. Despite having the benefits, there are a multitude of disadvantages of this phenomenon as well. First and foremost, youngsters stay away from their families while they travel to study. Consequently, they suffer from loneliness, depression and other mental disorders which affect their daily life. They cannot express themselves to anyone and have to do all things on their own. Another reason is that the home countries have to face a decline in their growth as people leave the countries and travel to other countries. For instance, 70% of youngsters have left India and have travelled to different countries, thus leaving old people behind in the country to work for the progress of the country. Hence, resulting in the downfall of the country. To conclude, although the trend of moving from the home country to another for higher education has certain pros, there are some cons that cannot be neglected.