The internet is probably the most significant invention of the last 30 years. Without it, our lives would be completely different. To what extend do you agree or disagree?

In this day and age, many people hold the view that the most crucial invention in the world is the internet. It has invaded our lives over the past few decades. While the advantages it has brought are undeniable, there are certain drawbacks that people need to consider. From my perspective, I partially agree with this notion. In this essay, I will clarify my opinion. On the one hand, the internet has benefited our lives positively. In fact, people nowadays consider online newspapers a great source of information. This keeps them up-to-date and helps them save time for other essential duties. Besides, in the era of Covid pandemic, virtual classrooms played a key role in ensuring the quality of education. Since learning is a continuous journey, the process of obtaining new knowledge will be interrupted without the advent of internet -based courses. Additionally, social platforms connect people from all over the world more easily. By using the internet, people can communicate with their loved ones instantly regardless of time and location differences. On the other hand, there are some downsides resulting from the internet. Firstly, cyberbullying is an alarming issue that has been argued by the masses recently. This is because social platforms provide a free space for everyone to raise their voice, overcriticising someone who has a contradictory opinion often happens. Secondly, sensitive content online is not strictly under control. It means that children can be exposed to harmful and violent scenes, leading to a negative change in their potential behaviour. Moreover, the appearance of modern technologies has greatly reduced people's likeliness of having face-to-face interaction. Rather than having real-life exchanges, they opt to send online messages instead as they assume it is more convenient and faster. Consequently, their communicative skills decrease tremendously. In conclusion, while I agree that the internet is a usable source of diverse information and can enable students' motivation to learn during the pandemic, I still think people need to use it carefully and wisely. It is obvious that digital bullying, harmful content, and a lack of interpersonal skills are some aspects that need to be taken into consideration while utilising the internet.