The advantages brought by the spread of English as a “global language” will outweigh disadvantages. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this view?

Nowadays, English has gained increasing popularity in many countries. I partly agree with the statement that this trend has brought more benefits, although this might present a threat to other minor languages. Firstly, international cooperation among different countries can be promoted because people can easily overcome language barriers by using English, which is beneficial to the whole society. Currently, there exist thousands of languages around the world, which presents obstacles in communicating with people from different cultural backgrounds. With the wide usage of English, considerable achievement can be reached. Examples include multinational scientific research, international environmental protection projects and transnational commercial collaboration. Besides, individuals can also reap the benefits of the in-depth knowledge of the cultures in different countries. Since the majority of respected news organisations use English as their official language, citizens who have a good command of English can have the access to the latest news and reports worldwide. By tapping into this knowledge, individuals can deepen their understanding of the culture and habit in different countries. Thus, the citizens are more likely to have a brighter career prospects as, for example, they might be aware of how to get along with business partners in different nationalities. On the other hand, the prevalence of English might also threaten other languages. Nowadays, English is a compulsory courses in numerous communities and is regarded as an crucial indicator in the university entrance qualification exam, as a consequence, the majority of students have to spend a considerable amount of time and energy in learning English, leading to the fact that they do not have adequate time to learn their mother tongue, not to mention a third language. To be specific, large amounts of minority ethnic languages are becoming extinct in China gradually. To sum up, the global dominant of English has led to benefits at individuals and societal levels, due to the fact that international cooperation is enhanced and that people can acquire more knowledge about the world. At the same time, we should not overlook the potential danger to other languages.