Some people believe that children’s leisure activities must be educational, otherwise they are a complete waste of time. Do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your experience.

Nowadays, many individuals believe that some relaxation activities performed by kids should have some kind of learning from it, without which that time is not utilized in the right way. In my opinion, children should be allowed to enjoy fun activities as per their interests, which will be discussed in the essay below. To begin with, the thought process of kids in today's generation was different to those a few years ago. Children tend to have a very sharp mind and learn things quickly, therefore they should be given the freedom to engage in the activities that they enjoy the most. There are numerous indoor and outdoor activities such as singing, dancing, painting, chess, cycling, basketball so on and so forth that help the kids. For instance, Chess is a game of mind, whereas basketball is a game of strength and these activities give plenty of learning opportunities along with having fun. A survey shows that 2 out of 10 children lose interest in the sport if it is forced forced upon them. Secondly, giving kids the freedom to choose their activity, gives them the sense of power and control over what they do. There are some children who will just go along with whatever their parents tell them to do, whereas there are some who may get angry with this decision of not allowing them to choose. However, we can guide them in making the right choices. Moreover, it is also important to understand that engaging in activities along with the children help strengthen their bond. To conclude, it is evident that any leisure activities that they choose willingly will have a positive impact on their mindset, whereas any forced activity may not give the same result.