Many people spend a lot of money on clothes, haircuts, beauty products to enhance their appearance. Some think it is a good way to spend, while others think there are other better options. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

In today's society, appearance is an aspect that is viewed keenly by the majority. The existence of social media leads people to have strong urges to show off their beauty. This leads to an immense market for clothes, haircuts, and beauty products. Due to this trend of high consumerism, two opposite opinions surface regarding these appearance-centric behaviours. While some view it as a good way to spend, others think that their money should be spent on other aspects of life. From my standpoint, there are truths in both perspectives. Through the lens of the consumers, spending money on clothes, haircuts, or beauty products is beneficial. It is a no-brainer that those things will enhance their appearances, hence increasing their self-confidence. Not only does it help improve one's looks, but spending money on those kinds of things may also be a good way for someone to rewind. The term 'retail therapy' has become more and more common these days. It is believed that purchasing things for the sake of one's self has a high correlation to lowering their stress level. Therefore, it is not a bad idea to spend money with the means of enhancing their appearance as it might help maintain their mental health. On the other side, a great chunk of people believe that people's monthly incomes should be allocated to relatively more important aspects of their lives. I do agree that sometimes people get so caught up in consumerism for the sake of their happiness that they end up neglecting things that are way more significant, such as food, rents, education, and so on. Thus, it is crucial for people to take those other important aspects into account. To summarize, both opinions are equally valuable. In my opinion, spending money on things to enhance our appearance is a good thing. Through buying new clothes, getting a haircut, and purchasing beauty products, we may gain more self-esteem whilst having our stress reduced. However, it is just as crucial for us to keep in mind the other aspects of life that also require money. After considering both of its benefits, I believe that beauty -related consumerism is acceptable as long as we know our priorities. If there is a primary need in life that is more urgent at the moment, it will be highly recommended for the money allocation to be focused on that instead. In conclusion, as functioning human beings, when it comes to spending our money, we need to be able to set a priority list and have self-control. That way, we'd be able to differentiate between a need for momentary happiness and an actual urgency.