Some feel that countries should produce most of the food that is eaten in their country and import as little as possible. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Agriculture is the backbone of any country as food is the basic necessity of human beings. Some people believe that nations should grow the food items in the country which are mostly consumed by its citizens. Their belief is to reduce the import of food from other nationals. I am not in favour of this opinion and share the reasons in the following paragraphs. The foremost reason is related to the demographics. All countries do not have the weather, soil and land for the agriculture and not able to grow all kinds of food. Some of the countries have the same season throughout the year, which prevent them to grow the crops that require rains such as rice, wheat, barley and maize. Moreover, it is difficult for these nations to fulfil the food demand of its citizens and such governments have to import the products to achieve such requirement of their people. For example, the UAE is the deserted area and import almost 80% of the food products from various other countries to satisfy the food requirements. Another persuasive reason is related to the employment. Various people across the globe has been involved in the import export business. Eradicating the sector will leave so many people unemployed and ultimately this he will impact the GDP of the country. Furthermore, this will impact the economy of the nation and ultimately people have to pay the price of low economy. For instance, millions of people are employed in this sector and will be impacted due to such steps. In conclusion, whether or not nations should grow their own food and import as little as they can be a debatable issue. I am with the opinion of importing the food products due to weather and unemployment issues. However, governments should try to reduce the imports if those products are available in-house.