The percentage of overweight children in western society has increased by almost 20% in the last ten years. Discuss the causes and effects of this disturbing trend.”

In this technological era, children are so into smartphones and electronic gadgets that they are not physically active anymore. As a result, they have become more obese and the rate of obesity has risen exponentially among children. Hence, kids nowadays could suffer from various illnesses related to obesity. In the following paragraphs, I am going to analyze the root causes and effects of this. Firstly, the main cause of this is, of course, a neglect of parents, when they spoil their kids by giving them what they want and not encouraging them to do sports. Therefore, due to this neglect, they are most likely to suffer from eating disorders. Secondly, with easy access to the internet, people tend to surf the web for hours, considering children have a lot of free time, it can last for days without any possible physical activity. For example, it is clear from new research that kids nowadays prefer online interaction instead of a real one, hence they lack outdoor activities. As a result of this problem, they might face serious illnesses and have to struggle with them their entire lives. Furthermore, if they chose to procreate with others, they would bear a lot of unhealthy babies, meaning a large proportion of the population would be unhealthy in some way and this vicious circle would lead to incapable youth that would not be able to provide themselves with basic needs without the help of their parents. In conclusion, considering all the previously mentioned information, it would be reasonable to assume that we should deal with this problem right now, while it has not become huge.