Some people think that books are loosing importance as a source of information and entertainment. To what extent do you agree?

Many people argue that e-books and digital libraries are taking the place of paper books. Thus, it is more likely that books will not be used to gain information and for entertainment purposes in the coming years, which in turn will lead to the death of paper books. I partially agree with this statement and consider that books will always be considered as an authentic source of information by some elderly people and teachers. It is true that youth, these days, prefers to use the internet and read e-books to gain information related to any academic or general topics. Google has become a repository of all kinds of books and entertainment materials. Due to technological advancements, all people have access to digital media through their phones or laptops. Thus, instead of referring books, people find it easy to search the data on the internet. Google results become available in a matter of seconds, which result in time saving. For entertainment purposes also, a variety of content is available on the digital platforms, so people use that material instead of reading magazines and novels. On the contrary, there are still a few people who are not tech-savvy, especially older people who rely on paper books to increase their knowledge. To state an example, a vast majority of elderly people in my country still read a traditional newspaper instead of using news applications or electronics papers. Moreover, books are still referred by many teachers as a teaching material. This is because, they do not find the digital content reliable and thus, stick to books for academic purposes. In conclusion, while youth may not find it useful to read books due to the availability of digital sources, it will be hard for elderly people switching their reading source from books to internet. Thus, in my view, books will never lose their importance.