Some people claim that not enough of the waste from homes is recycled. They say that the only way to increase recycling is for governments to make it a legal requirement. To what extent do you think are need to make people recycle more of their waste.

People tend to think differently on a single issue as some suggest, that laws should be implemented to improve the recycling rate while others possess the opposite view that only raising awareness among mass people is required. In my opinion, people should play a crucial role to prevent environmental degradation due to wastage. On the one hand, as a human being, it is our prime duty to protect the environment, without which our lives will be at stake. As a result, there is no exception to awareness regarding recycling as if a person belongs to the higher income bracket, this person may choose to pay the tax instead of managing waste. For example, some of my neighbours who are not educated, make wonderful objects by using residue found in the home. However, they do not receive any incentive from the government to do so. On the flip side, implementing a law may force a person to accomplish a task by any means, but it is not always probable as the local administration might suffer from manpower shortages along with funding crisis. Resultantly, the city corporation always puts importance on the participation of mass people. From this viewpoint, the first and foremost duty of the local administration will be to make people realize how wastes are degrading the ecology as well as putting black marks on their future. For instance, a few years ago, the German government adopted a step to reward households that recycled, and such action augmented the rate by 27 percent in the following year. So, putting importance on recycling may induce a tremendous change to our city as well as the neighbourhood. In conclusion, city dwellers should be cautious regarding waste management provided that the government performs its duty without any negligence.