Some people think that children who spend a lot of time reading children’s story books are wasting their time which could be better used doing other more useful activities. To what extend to you agree?

According to certain individuals, to spend children’s time effectively, they ought to be engaged in beneficial activities rather than wasting their time in reading story books. I strongly disagree with the statement that reading fantasy books are a waste of time because in my opinion, reading books are extremely advantageous for young one. Moreover, I also believe, reading more non-fictional stories should allow kids to better understanding of the world. To commence with, reading story books, plays an important role in the development of children’s intelligence. Reading is a good habit whether you are reading story books, newspapers or a research article. Particularly, if talking about the young ones, reading in the long term will have wonderful outcomes such as it broaden the horizon and knowledge of the pupil as well as the abilities to learn moral values. For example, in the story, the naughty Mole, being taught what the consequences one has to bear for disobeying your parents. To take another example, the child comes to know the importance of telling truth in the story called the red lion and a boy. Furthermore, non-fictional stories are also having a good source of gaining knowledge about the real world. It gives better exposure to the kid to understand many social issues. One clear example is, if child had a chance to travel abroad, he already aware about the culture, language and social values of that country. In addition, reading also enhances vocabulary as well as writing skills of the pupils. To recapitulate, utilizing time in reading story books will intensify kid’s moral values along with the lexicon and comprehension skills. Similarly, it is also helpful in understanding other customs. I could say, reading stories, without a doubt, is more favourable to young ones as compare to any other interest or activity.