Many educators believe that it should be mandatory for all students to wear uniforms. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Many teachers hold the opinion of making institution uniforms compulsory. This essay disagrees with the statement because many are unable to afford them, and it’s a new way to make more money. Obligating uniform clothing at schools will put pressure on low income families. There are many children whose parents work hard to admit them in good schools so that their kids can acquire quality education, and the uniform cost will be like an added expense for them. There are many instances where extraordinary and intelligent pupils have been kicked out because of not being able to buy a school dress. For instance, IIT topper, Ashwini said in his interview that twice he wasn’t allowed to sit for exams because of no uniform, now owns a leading company in the country. Secondly, every year a change in the attire is a new normal for schools today. Promotion to higher classes isn't just increasing the tuition fee, but the cost of new dresses is also an add-up, which claims to differentiate high school students from primary children. This way, these education centres make enormous money by enforcing it, which is no less than exploitation. Many parents have lodged cases in an Apex court relating to the same. According to the report published in the Times of India, share of schools in uniform business is estimated at 10 million annually and growing. In conclusion, students to wear school outfit should not be mandatory, as it’s not justified for financially weaker families; moreover, this is a money making business adopted by schools changing dresses yearly, which should be stopped. Therefore, education must be, irrespective of clothing a child wears, though decent clothing is important. Thus, necessitating a specific type of wear cannot be supported.