The working week should be shorter, and workers should have a longer weekend. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

These days, there has been a rising opinion that employees should have more days to rest and decrease their working time. Personally, although there are some drawbacks that we need to acknowledge, I believe that workers having an extended weekend will bring some significant effects that will be elucidated in the essay. Most obviously, giving workers a shorter working schedule can improve the working efficiency of the company. Having extra time for the weekend means that they can have more chances to unwind. This, in turn, can make them fully energized and completely ready for a new day of job. Consequently, workforce productivity can be rapidly improved. Furthermore, longer working hours do not mean that it comes up with better production. Conversely, with fewer hours to endeavour, people are forced to focus in their work and limit distractions, which directly improves their efficiency. Take the case of Microsoft as an example: when they experimented with a 4-day work week, they found productivity was boosted by 40%. On the other hand, the disadvantages of a shorter working week need to be acknowledged. It is true that working four or five days a week is not suitable for everyone. Some people prefer to work six or even seven days a week because they believe that it works better for them and they do not get tired when working for a long period of time. Furthermore, some businesses are required to be available 24/7, or even five to seven days a week, rather than four. If employees in these industries worked shorter weeks, customers could face delays and employees could find they’re unable to complete their work properly. In conclusion, I subscribe to the idea of reducing the working day as it can help improve the productivity of workers, which results in better results for the company. However, it is crucial to notice that not all people are suited to this type of work and not all businesses work well with this schedule.