Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. Others believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

These days, the options for majors to learn at a university have become wider. It is often said that students are supposed to only choose majors that seem to be useful in the next few years. However, the issue is not entirely straightforward and arguments can also be made against this idea. In this essay, I will discuss the debate and give a concluding view. On the one hand, the proponents of the idea argue that there are several benefits gained from studying prospective majors. First of all, this leads to better job prospects in the future, which ensures their well-being in the future in view of the fact that these jobs offer decent wages to support their living. Taking Chinese and Indian households as an example, they tend to force their kids to become doctors or lawyers, and apparently their children are living a comfortable life. On the contrary, the opponents of the idea debate that this initiative is against students’ rights. Firstly, students are supposed to have a right of determination, which gives them the freedom to choose a college subject based on their own preferences. Additionally, when pupils pick a major based on their interests, they appear to have lower stress rates since it provides them motivation and a sense of responsibility to deliver their maximum effort. Lastly, every major owns their own opportunities and offers. In some cases, the prospect of subjects that people see as unsubstantial, such as theatre or linguistic study, is significant as well. One example can be seen in people whose job as a professional singer, they actually enjoy a wealthy life. To sum up, it is advisable that students are supposed to be allowed to decide their own study interests rather than being forced to learn conventional or technology-related studies only because it seems to provide a better future. It would appear that when pupils choose the majors by themselves, they enjoy minimum pressure and actually also deserve a decent life.