Growing numbers of cities are making their centres pedestrian-only zones. What are the advantages and disadvantages?

Several expanding urban areas have converted their middle point into the passerby tract. As a consequence, the reduction in the level of pollution can be achieved, however, it will enhance the travelling distance and time for the dwellers of the place. This essay will discuss both- the positive and the negative impact of this change. Firstly, in most of the places, the middle areas are generally occupied by the market, and the housing colonies, thus, require clean atmosphere. This is to say that, if these places do not allow vehicles, then the air and sound pollution can be minimised to a greater extent, making the environment the most appropriate for the society. As a result, it will make shopping and living more comfortable and healthy for the public. For instance, according to a survey conducted in France in 2014, a decrease in air contamination was observed, owing to the restriction of all the conveyances in the city centres after 5 p.m. On the contrary, this can create a problem for daily travellers namely, students and workers. In other words, the distance to be covered to reach their respective destination will enhance, because they will have to get to the station, bus stop or the parking lots by walking. Hence, the commuting time will rise, and they will be left with a few hours to enjoy with the family and friends. To exemplify, in 2017 in a town called Solan in India, numerous people living in the heart of the city shifted to the Highways, to reduce the duration of travel to work or college. To conclude, there are some benefits of sections completely devoted for the walkers in a metropolis, such as decline in the pollution, however, it can lead to the wastage of time for commuting through the public or private transport.