These days, many university courses are offered through the internet. Some people think that online teaching has more advantages than conventional classroom teaching or lectures, while others claim that there are significant disadvantages. Do the benefits of online teaching outweigh the disadvantages?

Since the advances of technology and the latest lockdown policies due to the CoVid19 breakthrough, many universities around the world are offering classes via websites and online platforms. In this essay, I will explain why online teaching has more benefits than the conventional classroom one. On the one hand, streaming classes online is significantly more convenient because it allows students to save money and time as they do not need to commute to the campus. For instance, it took almost an hour to get to college when I was young and almost one- third of my monthly expenditure was on bus fairs. Another advantage is that remaining at home is safer regarding infectious disease spreading. In this manner, CoVid19 spread has been controlled by staying at home and not attending places like schools, bars and concerts. In addition, it is definitely much more environmentally friendly as a great amount of energy is needed to maintain the campus’ buildings and a lot of waste is produced there as well. In this manner, garbage and energy use would be reduced significantly. On the other hand, there are some drawbacks to bear in mind. In the first place, interpersonal relationships between classmates will be lost, as they do not have to attend large lectures where many youths meet and make friends. Likewise, I met my best friend and husband while studying Medicine at the university. Another negative point is that online courses do not offer any face to face feedback from professors. Therefore, teachers’ corrections and advice will not be any more a source of enhancement of our professional attitudes and assets. In conclusion, teaching through the internet can cause relationship and teachers’ feedback struggles. Nevertheless, I certainly believe online teaching protects the planet from severe contamination and it is a cheaper and a time saver strategy. Teachers should learn to handle online teaching difficulties and offer students quality online education, there is always another way to meet friends and partners.