Some parents believe that cell phones are harmful to children, while others disagree. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

According to Google study, 85% of Singaporeans own smartphones. Similarly, in this fast-paced community, it is observed that the majority of the people on the streets own smartphones. In fact, it is commonly seen that children, aged 12 and below, possess these materials. It is often debated parents believe that the disadvantages outweigh the advantages of small kids having cell phones due to factors such as the distraction it impacts on them. However, it seems that the usage of phones has its merits and consequences in serving the children’s needs. First off, today’s technology has help improve communication in numerous ways. To exemplify, many can text and video call using such a small device. Simply put, it is an easy way to track the geographical location and for children to keep in touch with family members in case of emergency. How in this way, where safety is concerned, is this harmful to the children having owned these devices? Yet, having a mobile device could serve as a distraction as well. For example, in this technological world, various developers are creating game applications for end-users such as children to entertain themselves with. With that, children tend to indulge in these non-educational games, most often causing them to neglect their studies due to addiction, resulting in scoring a below-average grade. Thus, many parents then perceive mobile devices as a harmful object to their children, leading them to confiscate it away. Henceforth, if their children were to prioritise working hard before playing, the situation might be turned around and the prejudice parents have over mobile phones might just be eradicated. The axiom “work hard and play hard” then could be true to a certain extent. The accessibility to derive information and news sources can be easily obtained through modern innovations. For instance, research can be made easy with the aid of search engines. These days, children in primary schools have projects assigned by teachers. With the aid of these portable gadgets, data can be found online at one’s comfort. Furthermore, the ability to read up on global news can be done with just a click. This proves that having phones could be beneficial to children after all. To sum up the aforementioned points, having a cell phone could have a detrimental effect on a child if he does not exercise self-control over his usage. Though the case, in my opinion, I feel that cell phones have a positive development in society, therefore, benefiting children in many ways. After all, in this evolving world, it will be hard to do away with smartphones.