In some large cities, people have to pay a fee when they drive their cars into the city center, in a policy to reduce the number of cars in the city. Give reasons in support of and opposing this policy, and give your own idea.

In modern times, one of the major issues faced by developed cities is traffic congestion due to the staggering amount of machine users in the city areas. As a result, drivers are charged a fee before entering the city centre in some countries. To my way of thinking, there are positive and negative effects that I’m in favour and against to be analysed for this policy. Undoubtedly, this strategy certainly comes with some positive impacts on the traffic. First of all, such action may insist the public to reduce the usage of machine unnecessarily. As a result, residents who are living in the city centre don’t tend to be under severe pressure of noise and pollution as well as emission. This would be advantageous for the department of road and transport. What is more, this management will also bring several benefits for both economy and people’s health. However, to my mind, the detrimental sides of this police definitely outweigh the benefits. Firstly, requiring plenty of funds from drivers is abnormal. Extra pay for a car might be burdened for the people who used car as the transport for the up and down trips, especially for those whose jobs need them to be constantly travelling around the city. While rich drivers may be unaffected by this policy, those workers with an average amount of income would surely be troubled by the extra pay. Secondly, it can less affect the travellers and tourists. To illustrate, people may try to find out alternative passage ways to the city centre which is non-payee and traffic congestion wouldn’t fall down vividly. In brief, the controversial issue of road payees for the car often helpful for the environment and people in the same manner. However, it seems to me that extra pay for cars to enter the city centre to limit number of cars isn’t the best solution, furthermore this is too extreme to be practiced.