Some people think that the best way to reduce crime is to give longer prison sentences. Others, however, believe there are better alternative ways of reducing crime. Discuss both views and give your opinion

A section of society believes that to alleviate the criminal offences it is a constructive way to keep the offenders in the cell for a longer period. Whereas others argue that there are other superior methods to mitigate the crimes. In my opinion, keeping prisoner for a long time is not a feasible option since incurring the extra expense of government and other ways are more effective than this. On the one hand, to reduce the crime rate it will be excellent if the offenders are in long-term jail. This is because, the prison will help them to stay away from the dark world of crime, and the possibilities are more to commence the offence again which will have a detrimental effect on them and the community. For example, the research says that 75%, of criminals, do not want to be in prison for a lengthy period because it is exhausting and suffocating. It will help them to realize their mistakes and the fear of being in jail is also there. On the other hand, keeping prisoners for the long term is expensive for the authorities it will be better if the legislation is restricted so that the criminals will be scared to commence any crime. Moreover, it helps to control, the violation and future criminals as well. For instance, in Saudi Arabia the law is at another level they do not keep the criminal in the cell they kill them in front of the audience. So that no one else should have the courage to step into the world of criminality. Therefore, such a restricted law impedes people to stay away from offences. In conclusion, staying in prison for long-term might mitigate the rate of violation. But in my opinion, it is better to restrict the regulation is the superior method to reduce the offence from the root.