Some people think that the government should take care of disadvantaged people such as the unemployed and homeless people. What is the cause of the problem? To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The importance of the government in improving the life of the less privileged section of the society such as the unemployed or the homeless citizens has been a major topic of concern nowadays. There could be several reasons for this, and I totally agree with the idea that the government should be of great help to these disadvantaged people. First, there is a whole host of reasons that could explain why such problem exists. First, the most compelling reason should be a rise in the unemployment figure. Due to globalization, the labour market has become incredibly competitive. In other words, companies are now looking for highly skilled employees from all parts of the world, leaving the unskilled locals struggling to land a job and get paid the going rate. Second, given the costs of housing are prohibitively expensive, more and more people cannot afford a place to live. Los Angeles, for example, has the highest number of homeless people compared to all other states combined in America and the main reason for this is because of the pricey housing prices. There are several reasons why I advocate the idea that the government should take care of disadvantaged people. To begin with, if the government allocate an appropriate proportion of the country’s revenue to help people without jobs or houses, the nation’s crime rate would decrease. In fact, the main reason for crime can boil down to a lack of money for basic needs like food or clothes. Therefore, if these needs are well taken care of by the financial assistance from the government, the unemployed and homeless will have less reasons to cause problems. Furthermore, as people have to sacrifice their wage to pay many kinds of taxes to the state, it is understandable that when they are in dire need for help, the government should not give them the cold shoulder. In conclusion, as the disadvantaged groups in a country are vulnerable and need backing. I believe it is the prime duty of the government to provide a proper help in the hardest time of their lives.