By punishing murderers with the death penalty, society is also guilty of committing murder. Therefore, life in prison is a better punishment for murderers. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

When a person guilty of murder gets sentenced to death, the public would consequently become guilty of murder, too. This situation has raised questions in the society that whether life sentence is a better option than the death penalty or not. Personally, I agree that lifelong imprisonment is the better, more logical, and more ethical way of prosecuting murderers. Moreover. In addition to. Murdering the murderer is self-contradictory. When the justice system, whom is selected by the society, sentenced someone to death, the public unknowingly become the killer themselves. No one should carry the burden of the after effects of things they did not commit. Moreover, funding that goes towards the justice system is also from the public and therefore, not only the judgement, but also the money is being taken to perform an action many would find unethical. Secondly, the cause of murder is not straightforward and therefore, the single action driven by multiple factors should not determine whether an individual's life should be taken or not. Killing someone is one of the most extreme action one could partake in, it is not a simple thought of planning and doing like most tasks are but rather an emotional and psychological warfare happening inside the mind of the wrongdoers. Therefore, deciding the fate of a person on their past actions is not ethical and should be abolished. In conclusion, prosecution of murderers by the mean of execution is not an ethical choice. We as a society as a whole need to come together and reform this unjust system and to better the community we live in for ourselves and the newer generations.