In some culture, children are often told that they can achieve anything if they try hard enough. What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this message.

It is popular among some nations that making children believe that they can do whatever they want, if they work very hard for it. This point of view has its own pros and cons. The advantage is that, this thinking can bring confidence in them and its disadvantage is that they never learn to accept defeat. Many parents start feeding their kids, this thought, that they can do whatever they want to do. It brings confidence in their child. This kind of encouragement makes them work very hard to achieve their goals. For example, if the child doesn’t hear, that he is capable of doing anything it might discourage him and kill his enthusiasm. This kind of winning attitude makes the child to do something innovative and daring. Although, the message seems very good and it looks it has all the positivity in it, but if not properly communicated, it can be very fatal for the kid’s mental growth. With this eagerness to win all the time, we have to ensure that they know how to cope up with failure. If not, when these kids face a setback they are not able to handle it very well and as a result it will affect their minds. For instance, it has been seen very often that those who work hard to win, if face a defeat, can’t accept it and either they stop doing hard work or start planning a revenge. To conclude, children become what we teach them to be, therefore it is parents’ duty to make them confident enough to work hard so that they can make it to their goals. While doing so, they should also teach them to face a failure. The balance between both these attributes can make their children to be really successful in life.