Some people believe that song lyrics which glorify violence and criminal lifestyle should be banned. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of such a ban.

In today’s world, everybody has an opinion about everything. Some people think that song lyrics that elevate violence and criminal lifestyle should be banned while other’s think it should not be banned. This essay will discuss both the advantages and disadvantages of such a ban. There are numerous advantages of this ban. As children these days are highly influenced by celebrities and look up to them for inspiration and motivation. When they see their favourite artist abusing on screen, they would definitely want to imitate that because they think that it is cool. Thus, unconsciously introducing these offensive words in their vocabulary. It is a major concern for the parents these days and indicate the parents incapabilities to raise their children properly. For example, a research study conducted in the USA revealed that one in every three children under the age of 15, use abusive language to display their anger and frustration when involved in a fight. On the flip side, these songs and lyrics are meant for a specific set of audience and it is the responsibility of the parents to keep their children away from such visuals. Moreover, it is a source of entertainment and reflects the creativity of the artist. Do you think that an artist should be banned from displaying their creativity? Talented artists should not be subjected to such prohibitions and given freedom to express their views and capabilities. For example, when Beyonce used certain offensive words to express her anguish and betrayal in her album lemonade, she was loved and appreciated by the majority of people in the USA. To conclude, as long as the parents are aware of the such songs and are taking appropriate measures to explain their children why they cannot use such words. Furthermore, it is important that the parents should explain their children the difference between the real and reel world. As long as that it is done, in my opinion the advantages far outweighs the disadvantages of banning the songs.