Many people think that mobile phones should be banned in public places such as libraries, shops and public transport. Do you agree or disagree?

Over the past few decades, technology has progressed at an unprecedented rate and has offered several new avenues to us. One of this advancement is smartphones, and which has become an integral part of our life. There is a school of thought which believes that cellular devices should be banned in public areas. In my opinion, I strongly disagree with this statement as mobile devices provide an ample amount of benefits. In this essay, we shall discuss this topic further. Nowadays, cellular devices offer an array of features apart from communication. It serves as a map, an encyclopedia, or transportation ticket. Furthermore, it is a mode of communication, and also serves as a translator. Public places such as libraries maintain a strict atmosphere, but it could be manageable by muting the device. Moreover, smartphones also serves as a notepad or reminder, for instance, when shopping an individual can simply type the list of items needed rather than writing it on paper, or keep a reminder for any future purposes. Lastly, the advent of e-tickets has made many people rely on their cell phone for commuting. On the other hand, people get extremely engrossed in their cellular devices and this could be harmful; for example, it is often advised to not use smartphone while travelling as it could lead to accidents. Additionally, people should be encouraged to limit the use of smart phones and involve themselves in their surroundings more. In conclusion, `laws like these seems harsh owing to the necessity of cellular devices. Nevertheless, overuse of smartphones is spiking these days, and so people should try to curb this trend by educating and motivating others to limit the use of mobile devices and practise physical interaction often.