Governments should be responsible for funding and controlling scientific research rather than private organisations. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that scientific researches carried out should be under the control of central power. This essay agrees with the statement because it ensures credibility and security; moreover, this will retain national integrity and brings development. Experiments under the government’s authority related to space, medicine or physics is important to secure the state’s interest. These studies contain high confidential data regarding security, to which there’s always a threat of data breach. Thus, researches governed by the country’s ruling party will make sure that there’s no illegal activity is carried out. For example, In 1995, India’s one of the booming private research institute got shut down due to the hacking of satellite data, which was done with the help of an internal source. Secondly, the state authority funds for these researches will help develop many new inventions that can be beneficial for the nation’s development. The government-controlled researches are held in the country’s profit that ranges from medicine to physics, automobiles to technology. However, if there’s a private investment, then there are also high chances of vested interest. For instance, during this pandemic, Russian Institute of Research and Technology that comes under direct control of the central government has developed the world’s first successful Covid-19 vaccine, which will be launched on August 15. In conclusion, private organisations should not be given responsibilities for the experiments driven projects as it poses threats of unethical activities that can be dangerous for a state’s integrity. Therefore, ministry control on science related researches can be supported as they are in reliable hands, and ensures the progress of the country.