The quality of life in large cities is decreasing. What could be the reasons behind this? What measures can be taken to resolve this problem?

Metro cities are the places, where most of the people like to settle, as they provide comfort and high standard of life. However, it has been found that, the standard of living in these mega cities is decreasing due to many factors like, overcrowding, pollution and many more, although these problems can be resolved by taking certain positive steps. To begin with, the quality of life in metro cities is degrading due to many reasons. Firstly, due to rapid development of metro cities, the majority of the population wants to settle in these large cities like, the Mumbai, Delhi, Kolkata, Bengaluru, which leads to overpopulation in the cities, which, at the end leading to strain on the facilities of the cities which result in the degradation of quality of living. Secondly, these overcrowding leads to pollution as too many peoples reside in the city. For instance, the level of pollution in the Delhi is so high that, it comes with the second rank at the world level. Therefore, these are the two main reasons for the diminishing in standard of living. On the other hand, the level of quality of life can be improved by taking certain steps in the right direction. Firstly, the national government bodies should intervene and try to develop multiple major cities by which people gets divided and the amount of strain gets reduced on the existing cities. Secondly, new industries should be developed in new towns and provinces which will provide employment opportunities to the public which ultimately attract them and settle in new cities. For example, the Canadian government, is taking initiative to immigrate public in rural areas so that strain on Toronto and other major cities can be controlled. Hence, these are the ways by which we can improve the condition of life in metro cities. To conclude, overpopulation and pollution are the main reasons for the degradation in the element of life in the large cities, however, it can be resolved by taking certain steps like, developing different provinces and constructing new industries to provide employment opportunities to the people.