Some say the world would be a better place with fewer languages. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people argue that the world would be an ideal place with certain languages. However, I strongly disagree with this viewpoint. This essay will examine my views and justify the proposed stance. To commence, several drawbacks occur if there are only a few languages in the world. First and foremost, language is a cultural legacy and an integral part of the community which has been used for a very long time. Therefore, removing languages may potentially be inappropriate, as preserving cultural heritage is instrumental nowadays. Additionally, a significant number of people will be against the idea of unifying language, leading to a debate or disagreement among countries to decide what language will prevail. Such conflict is caused by the reason that language has become a country’s pivotal identity. Conversely, despite the importance of languages, those who agree have their own arguments. The proponents of this argument believe that fewer languages can enhance communication between people from two different countries. This is because language distinction emerges as the primary issue in communication, which often leads to misunderstandings or disputes. Nevertheless, in order to alleviate the language barrier and forge nations connections, people can agree to recognize one language as a common language that is utilized at international level. For instance, countries can acquire English as the main language without eliminating their original language. To conclude, I firmly disagree that the world would be a better place with fewer languages, as language is an invaluable legacy and culture of the community and this can lead to conflict between countries. I believe that by linguistic variety we can create a richer, more interconnected world where different cultures can thrive alongside one another.