In some countries, owing a home rather than renting one is very important for people.Why might this be the case.Do you think it is a positive or negative situation.

Living in your own home instead of a rental property, is thought important in few parts of the world. There are a number of reasons behind this culture and this essay will discuss a few of them. In my opinion, this is a negative situation and this essay will further elaborate on my viewpoint. As far as the popularity of home ownership in a few countries is concerned, there are two main reasons responsible for this situation. To begin with, owning a home has greater economic benefits. To put it differently, even though renting a house may appear cheaper than purchasing one on loan, the latter option proves to be more beneficial on financial grounds in the long run. For instance, even if a person has to pay an EMI to the bank, which might be higher than the rate of rents, each of his instruments, acts as an investment, making him the owner of a property after a few years. Furthermore, owning a home gives a lot of freedom to its dwellers. Although there might be certain restrictions while living in a society or a building, overall a person is freer to execute his will. As a proof, a tenant needs the permission of the landlords even to drill a hole in the wall, but this is not the case in your personal property. Despite of all these merits, in my opinion, this is a negative situation and has many negative aspects. Firstly, it hinders personal growth. To explain further, as in today’s world professional growth requires a person to migrate to different places, owing an expensive house in a particular location may act as an obstruction. For an illustration, after getting promoted a person me be required to relocate to another state or even country. Moreover, renting a house is more convenient rather than maintaining your own. Since most of the maintenance and almost all of the repair work is the liability of the landlord, the tenant need not bother about these. To conclude, economic prosperity and freedom of the will are the main reasons resulting in the popularization of home ownership in few countries. However, because of certain demerits like, acting as a hurdle in growth and adding to the load of responsibilities, in my opinion it is a negative situation.