the only way to improve road safety is to have stricter punishments for driving offenders. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

These days, a rising number of citizens are worried about road safety. It is the opinion of this writer that imposing stricter penalties for driving violators is the not only way to enhance awareness of participating in traffic and reduce the number of traffic accidents, although it could be somewhat efficient. It is crucial to understand that stricter punishments are a deterrent to those who have the ability or intention to violate the law. Punishment may be in the form of money, imprisonment, confiscation of a license, or making the insurance high. For instance, driving through red lights in Vietnam will result in a fine of 800,000 VND to 1 million VND for motorbikes and 4 million VND to 6 million VND for cars. As a consequence, traffic participants will have the fear of being fined and will not violate regulations. Another key component of the case for stringent punishments for traffic crimes can be an effective solution to minimize traffic accidents. Due to the fact that most fatal accidents in the past stemmed from lax traffic laws. In this situation, the government has changed traffic laws to be stricter. Consequently, the total number of traffic accidents which are compiled until the end of 2023 has decreased significantly. ​ To sum up, stricter punishments could be the best way to handle road safety violations, but only to a certain extent. Even though, drivers should be educated then given a warning for minor human errors and finally strict punishment for violation of rules.