In the developed world, the average life expectancy is increasing. What problems will this cause for individuals and society? Suggest some measures that could be taken to reduce the impact of ageing populations.

More people are living a longer life with the advancement of medicine and technology in the 21st century. This situation is quite disadvantageous for a country and its population as it hinders development by depleting resources. To mitigate this issue, the government can introduce numerous rules that make the younger generation responsible for such retired people. To begin with, humans require food, water, shelter and recreation to sustain their lives. As people are living longer than expected nowadays, they are using up the limited resources available. The government uses money to not only provide health care to such older people, but to also build old-age homes. Taxpayers argue that this is a waste. To illustrate, these funds could be spent for the betterment of the younger generation by empowering them with subsidized education and much-needed employment opportunities. However, retired people do not have to be the burden of the government of a nation. Laws can be implemented which make their children accountable for their physical, emotional and financial well-being. It should be mandatory for the youth to take care of their parents when they grow up. Moreover, various schemes could be introduced to facilitate this process. For instance, the government should encourage the working population to set aside a fixed amount of money from every paycheque. This could be used to support their elders. To conclude, the rise in the mean life expectancy in recent years is concerning as this could mean that the scarce resources would be used up quickly. Nevertheless, if the younger generation provides the required support to older people, then our world will progress and prosper.