Some people think that young people should be required to do unpaid work helping people in the community. Are disadvantages of this requirement greater than the benefits for the community and individuals?

Many community services depend heavily on people to volunteer their time and efforts. Some people believe that it should be compulsory for young people to do programmes like this to share burden with people in needs. Despite the many disadvantages that might derive from this recommendation, I feel that such programmes are predominantly advantageous. On the one hand, creating unpaid work programmes would exert a negative impact on both the community and individuals. Firstly, youngsters are often immature for work like this. As a result, if they are forced to help the elderly, work on renovation projects or teach younger children, the program may cause more problems than it solves. The charities would have extra work in supervising these young people. In addition, high school students have a great deal of academic pressure, so adding these works to their timetable may not be possible, especially with students who are aiming for high academic results. Thus, establishing this type of programme might seem to be challenging. Nevertheless, these problems can generally be resolved, and there are definite rewards to both young people and the community as well. It is true that youngsters are often immature, however, such works would help them to develop a sense of responsibility, and help them gain the real-world skills that will be useful in their future. Furthermore, teaching teenagers to be community-minded would ensure that older volunteers can eventually work less, reducing their pressure from working. Therefore, everyone would benefit greatly from such programmes. To sum up, I completely agree with this proposal. Although the idea of compulsory service may initially be difficult to implement, and some may resist the idea, its long0term benefits will surely make up for any short-term problems.