Some people think that zoos are cruel and should be closed down. Others, however, believe that zoos can be useful in protecting wild animals. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Keeping animals in zoos is generally believed to be merciless as it deprives animal's form freedom. However, this behaviour can simultaneously be favourable in terms of protecting wildlife. This essay will endeavour to shed some light on both perspectives and explain the reasons why I stand by the second belief. It is thoroughly understandable that why this behaviour is universally regarded to be relentless. Firstly, animals kept in the zoos have little freedom. They can do nothing but walking around in their restricted exhibiting area and watching zoo-goers visiting them. The zoo is more or less synonymous with a delicate jail to the animals. In addition, being provided with ready-to-enjoy food and comfortable living conditions, large mammals would degenerate to a great extent. Take lion, the king of the forest as the most typical example. Without drastic daily hunting, their body is no longer muscular nor flexible, and their tooth is no longer sharp. In a word, keeping animals in zoos deprives their rights and ability to survive in the nature. Nevertheless, we cannot deny that zoos do possess benefits in protecting wildlife, especially for endangered species. Keeping animals in zoological parks empowers scientists as well as experts and volunteers of various animals-protecting association, like WWF, to observe different species comprehensively in a short distance. These observations and investigations reveal the optimal living conditions, including food, temperature, breeding seasons, sleeping cycle, of these animals, which foster human-being to create a suitable environment for wildlife. So that they can live longer and multiply like rabbits. Subsequently, those endangered animals would boost in numbers, rather than dying out in the near future. To conclude, though merciless enjail not usual or common or ordinary unusual animals for exhibition and profits is, the advantages of zoos in preserving precious species are enormous and non-negligible. Taking all the pros and cons into consideration, the loss of animals’ freedom is merely the least cost of reserving future biodiversity.