In order to solve traffic problems, governments should tax private car owners heavily and use the money to improve public transportation. What are the advantages and disadvantages of such a solution? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own experience or knowledge. Write at least 250 words.

Traffic congestion is a major issue around the world in the recent times. Therefore, the governments are trying to solve this problem differently. One of the common solution is by imposing heavy taxes for personal car holders and utilize this money to develop public transport. In this essay, I will first elaborate the general benefits of this system and then look into the inherent drawbacks. On the one hand, the merits of introducing taxes on car owners, would force them to pay an additional fee as a tax apart from other maintenance in regards, which will reduce the number of private cars on the road. Consequently, enhancing the usage of public transport and leading to a decrease in traffic across the cities. For instance, what is more is that the collected tax will contribute largely in upgrading the infrastructure, as a result increasing more commuters. Likewise, If this policy is acted upon it would not only minimize the traffic, but also reduce harmful gases emitted from the cars In contrast to this, there are few negatives of implicating this rule. Primarily, this will lead to an unnecessary burden upon private car owners and affect their budget. Besides that, some employees prefer to own cars due to the convenience of their different work time and schedules. For example, individuals working in Marketing sectors have the need of travelling to many places carrying their sales products along their journey for promotions and distributions. Moreover, some people have night work shifts and public transport are available only for specific timings. Under these circumstances, possessing a car would ease their work. Thus, enforcing taxes would be unfair upon them. In brief, the benefits and disadvantages has its position owing to this solution. On the whole, the government should be highly responsible for the developments and not burden this on fellow citizens. Nevertheless, the public should equally take the responsibility to minimise non-essential use of private cars and contribute to the society.