In the past when students did a university degree, they tended to study in their own country. Nowadays they have more opportunity to study abroad. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this development?

At the present time, thanks to the advances of travel industry and globalised education, students decide to study abroad much more often than in the past when it was more common to go to local universities. This essay seeks to explain the benefits and drawbacks of this new trend. The first advantage of travelling abroad is that it can enhance youth’s independence and social skills exponentially. Many medical students, for example, have special training opportunities overseas, having to talk to strangers all the time and solve everyday struggles on their own. Another positive point to underline is the cultural exchange. While meeting new friends at college, for instance, food-recipes, religion, art, music and architecture are learned from others enriching the knowledge and respect for other cultures. On the other hand, there are some disadvantages to be considered when the opportunity to study abroad appears. The first one is that it is extremely expensive, not only education itself, but also accommodation, food, commuting and clothes cost more. Namely, bus fares cost twice in London than in Buenos Aires, Argentina. Secondly, the distance to the family can become an issue when someone needs immediate help or company. In this manner, if a relative has a disease and requires our assistance, it will feel sad not being able to help in some way. In conclusion, nowadays there are more opportunities to study abroad ant this has social, developmental and cultural advantages. Nevertheless, there are several points to keep in mind while making the decision, such as education and accommodation’s fees as well as distances