Many people say that globalisation and the growing number of multinational companies have a negative effect on the environment. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, there are so much of globalization of multinational companies that it is adversely affecting the environment. I totally agree with it and this essay will elaborate on my viewpoint. To begin with, urbanization and industrialization are good for the development of the global economy, but they have their side effects on the environment. Even though every developing country is stressing its efforts and focusing its resources to lift their economy by promoting industry, as it not only provides employment to their population, but also helps the increase the bargaining power of the developing countries and help them to stand on the international platform in a convincing manner. However, it has a negative impact on the environment also. Global warming is the direct result of such exercises carried out by almost all the countries for their own penny reasons. Now it has taken a big shape as the climate of many countries is affected by global warming. The main point of concern is that although, the world knows about it briefly, but they are doing nothing to fix this issue. To illustrate my viewpoint, coal is used in many countries for industry and big thermal plants are operational, but the pollution caused by it is so massive that it should have been banned by now. Furthermore, the waste of the industry has drowned into the rivers which pollutes them and no proper measures are taken by the governments to stop it or even impose penalties on it. To conclude, development and progress are important, but it should not come at the cost where our air, which we breath in and water, which we drink becomes so unhealthy and poisonous that the survival of humanity becomes almost impossible.