Some people think it is more important to spend money on roads and motorways than on public transport systems. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Agree or disagree.

It is commonly believed by many individuals that governments should invest more amount in building roadways than public transport. I completely disagree with this view because spending more on roads would lead to traffic congestion and using these roads would adversely affect the environment. The primary problem associated with using roads instead of the public system is the increased traffic. This is because increased individual transport systems such as cars or bikes would take up more space on the roads and hence it would lengthen the total duration of the journey. For example, in a city like Bangalore, where there are two cars per family, traffic-congestion is becoming an unresolvable issue due to city's highway planning. Hence, because spending large sum on building roads would encourage to use more vehicles, governments should allocate budget for more important public transport. Additionally, motorways would discourage the use of mass transit, resulting in a sharp increase in pollution. If working professionals, which is a major chunk of travellers, use buses or trains for their daily commute, the fuel usage will reduce significantly. This will gradually resolve the issue of air pollution. Using subways would also help decrease the noise pollution since there are virtually no horns required during a subway journey. To illustrate, Amsterdam's early investments in bringing about a change in their public transport have massively reduced its carbon footprint. Therefore, in order to reduce pollution, it is essential to build better transit systems than motorways. To sum up, many individuals argue that a significant portion of the government budget should be allocated for building highways instead of advancing mass commute. In my opinion, this has more downsides than upsides because of the congestion problems and its impact on the global ecosystem.