Some students take a year off between school and University to work or travel. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

It is true that many students taking a year off before commencing to the tertiary education and spending this time either on travelling or working in an effort to gain some hands on experience about the outside world. While there are potential drawbacks of this situation, I would believe that it is largely a beneficial development. On the one hand, there are certain cons when students take a year off because the main prospect of higher studies is to secure a high paying job after finishing the study and if they start earning good money without any degree they might quit studying. That is to say, there are some jobs which require more practical skills rather than theoretical studies. For example, various jobs demanding physical and practical experience such as plumber and baker, and they can pursue their career in this job without any degree or certificates. In addition to that, by visiting foreign countries students may have negative influence of the visiting nations. Hence, they decided to move there permanently and start earning money in the illegal way. Conversely, despite the aforementioned downsides, I feel that there are two main advantages, why it could be argued that taking a gap year is helpful for the students. First of all, by travelling abroad, students can learn various social skills, and they can also learn about different cultures and traditions which will be very helpful for them when they decided to go back to higher studies. Secondly, they can learn some practical skill by working. As a result, it will help them in better understanding of theoretical theories in academics. For example, a student who wants to pursue his career in medicines, can work in a hospital as a care taker which will help them in learning how to deal with the different patients. Moreover, they can earn some money by working, and can concentrate on study without worrying about university fees. In conclusion, although annually leave between high school and universities can potentially effect students to quit studies and promote working without the need of the higher studies, yet I believe that the upsides such as learning some practical experience and social skills far outweigh the associated drawbacks.