Completing university education is thought by some to be the best way to get a good job. On the other hand, other people think that getting experience and developing soft skills is more important. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

One of the most crucial and important life decisions is choosing a career path. Some social experts argue that seeking a higher educational degree is essential to secure a proper job while, others argue that gaining experience in the real world and developing skills related to a desired profession is more important. In this essay, I will discuss both views and give my opinion on the mater. Most office jobs nowadays require an individual to have at least a bachelor's degree. For example, engineering, computer science, accounting and the list goes on while, others require even higher degrees like academic and, diplomatic jobs. The job market is highly competitive and having experience alone will not be sufficient for a person to be hired or receive future promotions. For example, LinkedIn is a platform for professional profiles where people can look for new jobs and apply for them. It is notable that all jobs on this platform require a university education even for entry-level positions. However, having skills and previous experiences are key for crafts where a profession and its specific ways are passed from one generation to another, to name a few, carpentering, tailoring, or like in Japan, sword making. In those examples universities and colleges are not important and have no role in making an individual excel in such jobs whereas, working in different workshops and with different experts and mentors adds more to their knowledge. To name an example, for an individual to become a professional athlete it is expected they practice this sport and train to qualify for competitions on national and international level. In conclusion, the qualifications required for a profession differ depending on the nature and the type of the desired career. Some jobs mandate tertiary qualifications whereas others require previous experiences and related skills. It is important for young individuals, their parents and their mentors to discuss future career choices and prepare the appropriate credentials.