Most people are undoubtedly influenced by heavy commercialization and advertising of products; consumers are buying out of desire more than necessity. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

In the era of social media, more people are keen on purchasing beautifully advertised products, instead of thinking twice of how useful they might be. I strongly agree with this statement, due to my own unfortunate experience that I can explain in the following paragraphs. A few years ago, a bulk of online media platforms witnessed a coming of fashion and beauty influences. Young boys and girls, generally belonging to the Millennials (aged 18-25), tend to sign one million-dollar contracts with brands to recruit the product. One of the best social media advertising examples would be a collaboration between Leona Livingston and Bottega Veneta. The Germany-based fashion blogger was offered to promote the Italian label's braided footwear. To illustrate, the shoes were extremely uncomfortable, but their colourful leather structure could have looked amazing on the young ladies' legs. Hence, hours after a handful of commercial videos were recorded, the shoes were sold-out by the end of the day. Furthermore, I had experienced the same online media gimmick by the end of 2019. A famous Hollywood actress Gwyneth Palthrow launched a campaign of her aromatic candles - " This smells like my happiness". Consequently, the well-structured PR-program helped the idea flourish. The commercial part was supported by the amusing slogan, which kept a bulk of people very intrigued. After the official sales had started, I could not resist purchasing one to fulfil my curiosity regarding the true scent of happiness. As a result, it has been just another vanilla-flavoured candle that was covered in black. In conclusion, social media platforms tend to boost the sales straight off the bat, as it provides the fastest access to the desired items. I agree, that the 21st century is the epoch of heavy commercialization due to the indubitable impact of influences on the shopping lovers.