Many people say that globalisation and the growing number of multinational companies have a negative effect on the environment. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Use specific reasons and examples.

For some time now, it has become a topic of debate where most of the individuals believe that growth in the industry and the immense surge in number of global organisations have impacted the mother earth negatively. In my opinion, I completely agree with the above stated argument and in this essay I will elucidate my viewpoint with supporting arguments. To begin with, one of the harmful impacts of the urbanisation and industrialisation on the environment is land pollution. To put it differently, even though the skyscrapers have accommodated many people in one small area, the resources used to build such a huge infrastructure are obtained as a result of exploitation of natural reserves like wood and water, to name but a few. For example, a survey conducted recently, revealed that 45 percent of the non-renewable sources of energy are consumed in construction these days. Thus, it has now become an alarming situation and we should take steps to limit the effects on the earth. Furthermore, the carbon footprint has increased due to the surging number of industries and technological automation. Although the issue of the employment is a pressing concern nowadays, the emissions caused by the companies, generating jobs, have many deteriorating impacts on the planet earth, such as high level of carbon dioxide and deforestation. To explore further, if these firms will expand in such an indefinite manner in the future, then the environment has to face much adverse situation. To conclude, it can be summarised that carbon emissions and the exploitation of natural resources has led to many detrimental and hazardous effects on the environment because of growth in international companies and industries globally.