Some people think that the best way to do a business is within the family. What are the advantages and disadvantages of family run business

These days there is an ongoing debate between people about doing business within the family or looking for other outside opportunities. While, it is possible to claim that business within family have a lot more benefits compared to its drawbacks. This essay will discuss the Pro's and Con's of businesses done within family groups. There are several reasons to support why businesses within the family are successful. One of them is a good mutual supportive environment is created while working with each other. Since both of the parties are from the same family tree each member tries to develop one another in order to succeed. The other important benefit obtained is a good transparency is maintained between the two parties. Sharing helps to understand each other's opinion and sometimes this can play a crucial part in uplifting the business. For instance, Harvard business article states that being transparent and motivating one another at work are the two main drivers for achieving positive growth. However, there are also a few disadvantages while dealing with family members when conducting any business activities. Sometimes due to business pressure, relationships are spoiled and certainly end up hating each other at one point which is a bad sign for the entire family community. Nuclear family business creates competitive nature and this character makes people to be greedy when opportunity arises. For example, Mukesh Ambani had betrayed his own brother Anil Ambani by establishing JIO industries in competition to reliance telecom as he identified the scope of the business. To recapitulate from the above information, it is valid to argue that doing business within the family group leads to both growth and downfall. However, it is clear that its advantages outweigh its disadvantages.