Organized tour to remote community and other countries is increasingly popular. Is it a positive or negative development for the local people and environment?

There is no denying fact that tourism is growing extremely in today’s era as travel can widen perspective about life all over the world. Therefore, some tours which organized to visit far- sighted places are becoming more popular because people nowadays show a preference to see new areas. However, there are some upwards and downwards trend to both local people and the environment. To begin with, increasing package holiday tours to rural areas are closely associated with the growth of the economy and the infrastructure development. Firstly, it creates more employments in the local areas as the job market for tourist related services frequently needs human resources. This in turn provides a stable income for local residents. Secondly, in order to achieve an increment in tourist arrivals, local authorities tend to enhance the quality of basic amenities and important infrastructure in these locations such as installation of water pipes, electricity, improvement of healthcare and construction of better roads. These facilities can make local's lives less difficult in remote areas. To embark on, visiting remote communities like tribal areas in Africa or in Myanmar et cetera exposes these tribes different types of threats. Firstly, with increasing tourism more and more people will visit these places which will cause more pollution and littering. Secondly, there is also a probability of exposing these tribes to cultural extinction. Because, local communities might get influenced by the tourists and try to adapt their culture and way of lifestyle. Thirdly, local wildlife and vegetation are also vulnerable to destruction. The example substantiating this statement is, as tourism flourished in remote African wildlife areas, travellers bribed the local authorities to hunt wild animals, the aftermath of which was, the lions and rhinoceros were hunted down to extinction. To conclude, I would reiterate my decision that this type of tourism is a negative trend. Because there is lots on stake of the remote communities and which should not be disturbed. Instead, these places should be left untouched as India has done with North Centennial Islands in Bay of Bengal.