The tradition that the family gets together to eat meals is disappearing. What are the reasons? What are the impacts?

It is true that the traditional family mealtime is becoming a thing of the past. Several reasons could explain why this pattern of behaviour is changing and it can have some adverse impacts on family life and health. On the one hand, there are two main causes responsible for why families no longer share mealtimes as they used to do in the past. Firstly, children are often too impatient to eat at the table, and parents sometimes allow them to have their meal in front of the TV or sitting in front of the computer. Secondly, the close-knit family is disappearing in the face of economic pressures. In single-parent households or families with working mothers, it can be almost impossible to arrange regular times for meals when all the family is together. On the other hand, it is undeniable that the disappearance of family meals can have several detrimental effects on the family. From the perspective of the family, meals taken together are an important feature of stable family background. Moreover, when they cannot spend time eating together, the family bonds are likely to be loosened and as a result, the child feeling a lack of affection for their own parents. Besides, it is an essential factor in shaping children’s personality during their formative years. In fact, children who do not have meals with their parents frequently are less likely to develop proper manners. In conclusion, based on the aforementioned explanation, disappearing shared family mealtimes can have some negative impacts on children's development.