As well as making money, businesses also have social responsibility. Do you agree or disagree ?

Nowadays, an increasing number of people are concerned about what kinds of functions that a business should take. While some people believe that making a profit is more important, others state that besides creating money enterprises should take their responsibility to society. I partly agree with both views. On the one hand, focusing on generating profits could bring benefits in some ways. Firstly, it would enhance the quality of people's lives. This is because the more money companies have, the more taxes the authorities can get. Therefore, this will give the governments a considerable budget to invest in important public services such as hospitals, schools, and infrastructures, which results in significantly improving the people's living standards. Secondly, it also gives young people countless job opportunities since enterprises need a great number of employees to run their businesses. If no company wanted to make money, there would be no need in the labour market. On the other hand, there are several reasons why companies should take responsibility for what they have done to society. One reason is that manufacturing orientated activities could have a detrimental influence on the natural world. Without manipulations, production processes might lead to severe environmental problems like air pollution, which stemmed from factory emissions or the irresponsible of industrial waste. For example, land pollution could be substantially controlled if every factory installs waste treatment systems instead of discharging. Another reason is that enterprises are advised to give their hands to those who are less fortunate. Friesland Campina, for instance, an international company always deducts a small number of profits to facilitate its public image through philanthropic actions such as providing scholarships or giving charitable donations. In conclusion, money plays an indispensable role in developing businesses. However, it is obvious that if institutions want to survive in the market, they have to undergo their social actions towards the community.