Today more and more tourists are visiting places where conditions are difficult, such as the Sahara desert or the Antarctic? What are the benefits and disadvantages of this?

Nowadays, remote places like Sahara dessert or Antarctica with harsh survival conditions are being visited most often by explorers. It has become a fantasy of tourists to explore the unknown. This essay will discuss the pros and cons of tourism at these places. If we enlighten the positive side of the travel, huge part of a country’s economy is being shared by the tourism industry. Moreover, a study shows that remote place which attracts lots of visitors are more likely to be developed than a city. Touristry provides a number of employment opportunities and a chance for small businesses to prosper and it will help the economy to grow exponentially. Furthermore, these places also increase the curiosity of scientists and geographers around the world to discover the secrets hidden in them. As every coin has a second side, the dark side of exploring these isolated places is to risk it by getting exploited by all kinds of tourists. Usually the locals residing in these places are reserved and had protected their traditions from ages. When these places are exposed for exploration, it might put their culture on the brink of extinction. According to a survey from national archaeologists of America, it shows that the aboriginal people, who belongs to these places, do not like the intrusion of outsiders, because they think that they will destroy their sacred home. To sum up, tourism has its both advantages and disadvantages, but it is very important for explorers understand that wrecking someone’s community for a discovery is very unethical. To resolve this issue, the government should make strict policies towards adventure and research study at these places.